Section 8 eligibility guidelines in Texas require Section 8 housing beneficiaries to meet the program’s citizenship rules, income limit and other qualifications. Learn about the requirements for Section 8 in TX by reading the following article, which provides answers to common questions about Texas Section 8 eligibility, including:

  • What are the requirements for Section 8 in Texas?
  • Do I qualify for section 8 housing in TX?
  • What are the qualifications for low income housing in Texas?
  • What do I need to apply for Section 8 in TX?

What Are the Requirements for Section 8 in Texas?

In order to meet the basic requirements for Section 8 in Texas, all members of the applicant household must hold U.S. citizenship or a qualifying non-citizen immigration status. Section 8 eligibility guidelines prevent any individual who has been evicted from public housing due to drug-related crime from participating in Section 8 housing assistance for a minimum of three years after the eviction date.

To qualify for Section 8 housing in TX, a household must also meet the program’s definition of “family,” which may vary according to the local Public Housing Authority (PHA) guidelines. When generally referring to what are the qualifications for low income housing in Texas, however, a “family” may consist of a single person or a group of persons, and it does not need to include children. Specific types of families include households with or without children, elderly families, disabled families, displaced families and single persons.

Do I Qualify for Section 8 Housing in TX?

What are the qualifications for low income housing in Texas? Applicants can begin determining their eligibility by examining the definition of the term “low income.” Section 8 eligibility guidelines in TX define a low-income family as one with a total annual gross household income that is equal to or less than 50 percent of the median income level for the local city or county area as set by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). In order to assist the neediest families, HUD also requires 75 percent of newly admitted Section 8 households to have an annual gross household income that is at or below 30 percent of the area’s median income level.

The income limit for Section 8 eligibility in Texas varies according to family size and location. For example, the current income limit for a four-person family to qualify for section 8 housing is $26,200 in Falls County, TX and $34,600 in Harris County, TX. Additionally, local PHAs may establish other income categories or family classifications in order to address unique local housing needs.

The PHA’s calculation for determining Section 8 income eligibility take into account a household’s earnings such as wages and salaries, business income, interest and dividends, periodic payments such as social security or pensions and unemployment compensation. The PHA excludes some income sources such as foster care payments, money earned by children, temporary income, some inheritance money and student aid.

What Are the Qualifications for Low Income Housing in Texas?

Applicants still wondering, “Do I qualify for section 8 housing in Texas?” should also be aware of local PHA preferences. For example, some Texas PHAs may give Section 8 eligibility preference to families that are currently homeless or involuntarily displaced, living in poor housing conditions or spending over 50 percent of total household income on rent.

The question “What are the qualifications for low income housing?” does not only apply to housing assistance candidates, but also to the units that housing beneficiaries may rent. Beneficiaries who qualify for Section 8 housing in Texas may choose their rental unit. However, the household’s choice of rental unit must also meet Texas’ requirements for Section 8 housing, including the minimum housing standards of health and safety as determined by both HUD and the local PHA. Furthermore, the unit’s owner must agree to participate in the Section 8 program. The PHA will perform an initial inspection of the unit, with subsequent inspections performed annually. Section 8 petitioners may be able to search online for approved low income housing units.

What Do I Need to Apply for Section 8 in TX?

Households that believe they meet TX Section 8 eligibility requirements may want to start gathering the materials needed to apply for Section 8 in Texas. Some of the documents that families may need to apply for Section 8 in TX may include:

  • Proof of citizenship or eligible immigration status for eligible members of the household.
  • Household members’ social security cards or an approved document containing the Social Security Number (SSN).
  • Proof of income documents.

What are benefits for Texas residents?

The State of Texas offers a wide array of benefits and services to the residents of Texas at home and abroad. These benefits include health care, housing assistance, unemployment assistance and a variety of programs for families to assist with food and health expense. Many individuals and families qualify for several of these programs. Complete the survey and download our guide to find helpful information on all of Texas Benefits along with details about eligibility and instructions for how to apply here.

Who is eligible for Texas benefits?

The State of Texas extends benefits to those who qualify. Families, individuals who have lost their job, persons with disabilities and elderly residents are usually those who will benefit the most from Texas’s social welfare programs. For a comprehensive list of the requirements for each of Texas’ programs please complete the survey and download our guide.